Dell Medical School

Committees and Councils

Appointments, Promotion and Tenure Committee

CHARGE: The Faculty Appointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee shall evaluate the credentials and qualifications of faculty members and make recommendations to the Dean concerning their appointment, promotion in rank and eligibility for tenure.


Susan "Sue" Cox, MD

Jorge Almeida, MD, PhD

Edward J. Bernacki, MD, MPH

Tom Brenna, PhD

Alison Cahill, MD, MSCI

Richard Freeman, MD

Nilda Garcia, MD, FACS

Elizabeth Matsui, MD, MHS

Christopher Moreland, MD, MPH

Jewel Mullen, MD, MPH

David Ring, MD, PhD

William Schwartz, MD

Faculty Senate

CHARGE: The Faculty Senate shall act as the representative body of the faculty in all matters pertaining to academic affairs and general academic welfare. The members are the elected representatives of the faculty Assembly and shall be guided in their deliberations by the opinion of their constituents. The Faculty Senate is charged with establishing the policies and procedures for governance of the school and with maintaining adherence to these policies and procedures.

Dell Med Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes


Committee Officers

Alison Brooks-Heinzman, MD, Chair

Sujit Iyer, MD, Chair Elect

Stuart Wolf, MD, Secretary

George Rodgers, MD, Secretary Elect

Diagnostic Medicine

Cameron Craddock, PhD, Member

Jennifer Blankenship, MD, Member

Paul Michaels, MD, Alternate

Internal Medicine

Jadranko Corak, MD, FACP, Member

Pratima Kumar, MD, Member

George Rodgers, MD, Alternate

Medical Education

Michael Lee, PhD, Member

Alan Rampy, DO, PhD, Member

Andrew Bergemann, PhD, Alternate


John Bertelson, MD, Member

Steven Steffensen, MD, Member

Pradeep Modur, MD, Alternate


Ronald Wilson, MD, Member

Patricia Aronin, MD, Member

Elsa Arocho-Quinones, MD, Alternate


Marie Somogyi, MD, Member

Shannon Wong, MD, Member


Anna Capasso, MD, Member

Jason Terrell, MD, Member

Gregory Ippolito, PhD, Alternate


Sujit Iyer, MD, Chair Elect

Jennifer Hughes, MD, Member

Jorge Ganem, MD, Member

Population Health

Ernestine Lee, MD, PhD, Member

Dana Sprute, MD, MPH, FAAFP, Alternate


Roger McRoberts, MD, Member

Jessica Thompson, MD, Member

Aurora Osteen, MD, Member

Surgery & Perioperative Care

Aaron Laviana, MD, MBA, Member

Amy Papst, MD, Member

Stuart Wolf, MD, Secretary

Women's Health

Alison Brooks-Heinzman, MD, Chair

Amanda White, MD, Member

Christina Salazar, MD, Member

Ex-Officio (Support)

Susan "Sue" Cox, MD

Clay Johnston, MD, PhD

Johnathan MacClements, MD

Beth Nelson, MD

Emily Vinas, EdD

LuAnn Wilkerson, EdD

Policy & Bylaws Committee

CHARGE: This committee shall be responsible for reviewing proposed or existent UT Austin Dell Medical School policies, UT Austin HOP or UT System Board of Regents’ Rules and Regulations for the purpose of providing the Faculty Senate and Dean with support and advice.


Committee Chair

Reid Pierce, MD, Internal Medicine


Beth Nelson, MD, Medical Education

Jennifer Hughes, MD, FAAP, Pediatrics

Meena Iyer, MD, Pediatrics

Lloyd Berg, PhD, Psychiatry

Steve Henry, MD, FACS, Surgery & Perioperative Care


Mike Breen, MD, FACOG, Women's Health

Jason Reichenberg, MD, Internal Medicine (Chair)

Pradeep Modur, MD, Neurology